The temperatures here in Seoul have really only been in the 80’s. And coming from a place that easily reaches over a hundred would make it seem that I could handle the heat. But, it is so humid here and it just makes the weather very uncomfortable during the day. Plus, it is 장마, Korea’s monsoon season, so things are especially wet. Just yesterday I had dropped off Maya at her little preschool and went to the store to pick up a couple of things. I was wet when I got home, it was ridiculous. It hadn’t rained. Sweat only accounted for a part of it. It was like the air was misting me from all sides. Seriously. I started carrying a small fan and a handkerchief with me to wipe myself off every now and then. What I don’t understand is why I am the only young woman on the streets who is wiping myself off like an overweight ajussi. I mean, I guess I could stand to lose a few pounds, but still. Everyday I walk outside, I regret the fact that I have bangs. I just can’t understand how all of the young people with their fringed hair can stand the wet. 

The nights are kind of pleasant though….

