I love salsas and I especially LOVE fruit salsas. I started craving mango salsa one day and decided to make it. Fresh mangoes are insanely expensive, so buying fresh ones were out of the question. Then a friend of mine introduced me to Dole frozen mango chunks she buys at Costco.

She uses them to make an awesome mango sherbet-like dessert that I will post about later. I bought a bag, initially to make the sherbet, and found that it works awesome for a mango salsa. Not only do I not have to worry about making a big juicy mess trying to peel and dice a fresh mango, but the frozen chunks are sweet and just as good as using the fresh version. Note: This is a very simple mango salsa using ingredients that are readily available here in Seoul. If you are able to get your hands on some fresh cilantro, jalapenos, and some limes, by all means throw them in!

Ingredients

2-2 1/2 c. Dole frozen mango chunks

1 large tomato

Half of a large cucumber

Half of a medium onion (I can only get yellow onions)

3-4 hot green chiles

juice of one lemon (well, not quite one lemon, but more than a half of a lemon)

salt and pepper (a few dashes and pinches)

1 tsp. minced garlic

Method

First, you want to pull out the necessary amount of mango chunks and let them thaw in the fridge for a bit. Don’t thaw them completely. If you leave them a little frozen when you cut them then they don’t make such a mess. I like to dice all the veggies all about the same size as the the mangoes, except the chilies… I dice the chilies very, very small. Then I squeeze the lemon juice onto the mixture, add the salt and pepper, and the garlic and mix together. Then, I taste it. If it needs more lemon or more garlic then add it. This is a great healthy snack you can eat with some chips or it goes great on chicken or fish. It even tasted good on the flat bread I made. 

Like I said, this is a very simple salsa and you could use sweet onion or red onion instead of yellow. You could also use bell peppers too if you want. 

Here’s a pic of my mango salsa:

 

In the picture you can see the green chile I used. I can’t remember the name of it in Korean. But, it smells very similar to jalapenos and it has a similar taste.

