And here are the other books I have been reading. I just realized that these two books, though very different, deal with the effect that one decision can make on a person and all those around him or her. Even for a life time.

The Kite Runner Khaled Hosseini

“…I wondered if that was how forgiveness budded, not with the fanfare of epiphany, but with pain gathering its things, packing up, and slipping away unannounced in the middle of the night.” (p. 359)

“War doesn’t negate decency. It demands it, even more than in times of peace.”

(p. 115)

This really was a heart wrenching story about two unlikely friends in the midst of the upheaval of modern day Afghanistan. There were parts that I just couldn’t read and I would set the book down, take a breath, and then pick it back up to continue with the story. The themes are definitely not for the light hearted (the book deals with war and everything that encompasses that and also with child sexual abuse). I never really knew much about Afghanistan, and I still don’t, but after reading this book I have gained a little insight into the life during the Taliban and just before their rule. I heard it was a really good movie and I plan on seeing sometime soon. Definitely a good book to read.

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter Kim Edwards


This was a very sad novel. It is about the decision one father makes when his twin daughter is born with Down Syndrome and the impact it has for the rest of his family’s life. When I read this novel I was quite surprised how the United States around the time of the 1960’s and 1970’s treated children born with Down Syndrome. Most were institutionalized while all were diagnosed with a grim and short future. This was very well written though sad to read.

Fishers of Men Gerald n. Lund

I was initially excited to read this novel. Daniel was reading it while I was reading the other books I listed above. He seemed engrossed in it. Though this was a very interesting subject to me; a family set during the times of Christ, struggling to know whether He is the Messiah or not, it was a little disappointing as well. The good points were that I learned a little more about the life during that time in Israel, I learned more about the Jewish religion at that time, and I was reminded that the figures we read about in the New Testament were real people and not just characters we sometimes think about them as. The bad points were that I felt the author trying to stretch too much to get each of the characters in the right place so that he can include some of Christ’s miracles and teachings. Though the story was action packed I thought the story a little unbelievable especially with the roles of some of the characters. I also thought some of the dialogue was way to wordy…I don’t know. Anyway, I would recommend reading it if you are interested in this subject and the history of the times (Gerald Lund did a lot of research for this book).

So, those are the books I finished this past month. All worth reading. Right now I am working on Paradise Lost by John Milton which reads like Virgil’s Aeneid or Homer’s Odyssey. So I am thinking it will take me a lot longer to finish.

