Remember my post about the ajummas here in Korea? How they aren’t afraid to express their opinion to you about anything? Well my mom (who is Korean and immigrated to the States after marrying my dad back in the 80’s) related to me an experience she had recently. An experience that made her think of my exact post. Back in Utah a couple of weeks ago she took my cousin (who is Korean and came to the US to study English) and his girlfriend snow shoeing for the first time up Provo Canyon. Since my mom only had two pairs of snow shoes they took turns going in pairs around the park. Well it was my mom’s turn to sit out and while she was waiting she saw a couple of young boys playing around in the park. She noticed that they were making snowballs and throwing them at something. She soon realized that their target was a herd of deer that had come down off the mountain. The boys were throwing the snow balls into the herd trying to scare them and really just trying to have some “teenage boy fun.” And this is when her ajumma instinct came out. She didn’t feel it was very nice for them to be throwing anything at the deer so she yelled over to them and told them to stop throwing the snowballs. They were quite shocked and a bit embarrassed that anyone said anything to them. They stopped, apologized, and high-tailed it out of there before the Korean lady might get angry. When she thought about the situation a little time later she thought about my post and how she had “lapsed” into ajumma mode….despite over twenty-years of living in the States. But, as she thought more about it, she didn’t feel there was anything wrong with what she did. She wasn’t mean, her request was out of concern for the animals, and she didn’t harm anyone. I think that I have to agree with my mom. I think sometimes we need and should say something. Of course we should never be mean or judgemental or anything, but we should care a little more for the people around us. Genuine care. I know I have been in situations where I saw something and knew I should have said something but didn’t. Maybe it’s because we are too afraid of hurting someone’s feelings or for what they may think of us. When the ajumma, here in Korea, told me that it was cold and I should cover Maya with another blanket….first getting over the initial shock of someone telling me something…I felt a little grateful that she really cared to say something. Maybe we should all be a little more willing to have an “ajumma moment” when something needs to be said.

