Not to long ago I was lamenting to Nancy over instant messenger about how I wanted to make pancakes here in Korea but I wasn’t sure I wanted to eat the Korean brand syrups that they sold in the stores. I also didn’t want to fork over an arm and a leg for some good ol’ maple syrup at Costco or in any of the foreign marts. Well, she gave me a wonderful idea! She told me her dad made apple syrup from scratch, and that it was delicious. So, this morning I decided to put some apples I had to use and try making home made apple syrup.

I did some searching on the internet and found a recipe that I thought would come out pretty good. (Recipe at end of post). It was quite easy, though a bit labor-intensive. It came out pretty good but I was a little disappointed because I was expecting syrup but got a liquidy applesauce instead. But, since Daniel liked applesauce with pancakes, it was a hit. I made some home made banana pancakes since I thought the apple “syrup” would taste really good with bananas.

Here are some pictures

My plate of pancakes:

applesyrup.jpg

Here is a close-up:applesyrup-closup.jpg

Here’s a side-view of my pancakes:

applesyrup-sideview.jpg

 Apple “Syrup”

1 lb. apples

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

2 tbsp. lemon juice

1/4 c. butter

1 c. brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1 c. water

Cut the apples into small chunks and put in a pot with the cinnamon, nutmeg, lemon juice, and butter. Cook until the apples get soft. Then take out the apples and puree them. Put the puree back into the pot and add the vanilla and sugar. Stir until dissolved and let boil for 5 minutes. Add water. Boil a little longer.

