This morning my mom left for the airport to return back home to Utah. Daniel, Maya, and I were able to spend time with her and the rest of my family yesterday. My uncle took us all out to eat, so we were able to talk with them (the best that we could with our poor Korean) and with my mom. You know, when we found out that we were going to come to Korea for over a year, I was so excited. I thought that a year really isn’t that long. But, now thinking of my mom leaving, a year does seem like a really long time to be away from them. She came with us to Korea to visit family and to help us get settled in. I don’t know what we would have done without her. Of course, my family is here too, but the language barrier is overwhelming sometimes. She spent most of this trip helping us find an apartment, get all the necessary things for us to live here, teach us some useful things when shopping and stuff, getting my visa worked out, open a bank account, and a million other things that moms do that we don’t realize until they are gone. It is silly that I am sitting here crying while I write this since we can always call her and my dad anytime. Modern technology has made it possible to keep in contact no matter where you are. But, I think it is because she won’t actually be here. I also really miss my dad. When we were at the Korean Immigration office I was able to speak with my dad on the phone and I just really miss him. I am really glad that I brought that little photo album crammed with pictures of family. I initially brought it for Maya, so she can remember everybody, but now I am thinking that it will be more for me! I hope that things go well for my parents, and all of our family, this next year. I am definitely looking forward to when both of my parents will be coming to Seoul next September or so and for when Daniel’s family will be coming as well. It will be a lot of fun! I am really blessed that I am not here just on my own. At least I have Daniel and Maya with me. Maya will definitely keep me busy this next year!

….does anyone know a good remedy for homesickness….?

